Post-Ramadan Life

The 30 days many were dreading have once again ended. Ramadan is done and Eid has rushed past (due to some poorly timed decisions and books, I managed to sleep through most of the festivities).

For the first time in a while, I woke up at 9 am. Voluntarily. It’s not like I haven’t seen the sun or anything lately. But with exams and projects at the beginning of Ramadan, and utter boredom by the end, my sleep cycle has taken a severe beating.

But post-Ramadan life doesn’t just smoothly transition back to pre-Ramadan life. There’s the confusion of timing, when things no longer take place at night. The momentary shock of accidentally eating something during the day, until you realize you aren’t actually fasting. And, somehow, an empty feeling.

If you’re like my family, you’ll probably be fasting the ‘six white days’ (ستة ايام البيض). They’re not mandatory, but you get some extra good points on your record with God. It also helps the transition, if you’re the kind of person who pines for Ramadan when it’s over.

I’m not sure if this happens to many people, but during the transition, I’m hungry all the time. It’s not a rumbling-stomach kind of hungry, but this unconscious need to put food in my mouth. It’s irritating because if I’m not constantly vigilant, I’ll just blissfully gain weight as I eat everything in sight.

It’s been a depressing Ramadan in Benghazi, and an even more depressing Eid. A young journalist was assassinated on the second day of Eid. His assassination is similar to that of political activist Abdulsalam Al-Mismari, being shot after Friday prayers.

I flew off the handle yesterday on Twitter, so I’m all ranted out. There’s nothing really left to say. There’s this all-consuming veil of sadness and misery cast over the country, and even the few optimists left admit that there’s not much left to do.

But there’s still the chance of a revival of spirit. The school year will start in September and there’s a few social activities being planned. For me, it means going back to the social vacuum that is architecture school.

Three semesters left! And I got an A+ on my airport design last semester. They usually say the pain of all the work is gone when you see the fruit of your labour, but no. I still remember the sleepless nights staring at my laptop for hours on end, the stress of trying to make the design work and the sheer size of the project itself. If I could go back, I’d definitely try managing my time better (but I say this every semester).

I think, for the first time ever, I’m sick of politics. Just fed up. I can’t even approach an issue now without being overwhelmed with the apprehension of how many ignorant comments there will be, how many baseless claims will be made, the pointless arguing and pseudo-debates where you call a person an asshole in a more eloquent manner.

There was a time when I truly enjoyed it. But lately it just seems like all the mainstream news is contrived and dumbed down, looking to stir emotions and create schisms rather than any real objective reporting. And people, like the lemmings they are, take the bait and jump into arguments they’ll never win. The topics have become too insignificant, bland, boring. Does it mean anything if Richard Dawkins likes mocking Muslims on Twitter? Is it imperative that they boycott the Sochi Olympics? Does the plight of women who want to breastfeed in public without a blanket, the resignation of an Australian politician who believes Islam is a country, or the views of Tawakul Karman on Egypt, merit conversation?

Maybe it’s just me, and I’ve found the tedious repetition of what is essentially the same argument pointless. Isn’t there a quote about how arguing with a fool makes you also a fool, or something of that nature? Either I’m wising up or going senile at the ripe old age of 22.

 

Leave a Reply

